We are currently experiencing high call volumes resulting in longer wait times for our Call Center agents. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Translate: English Spanish Vietnamese

Board of Directors

The Clayton County Water Authority is governed by a Board of Directors composed of seven members. Each board member serves on a part-time basis for a term of five years and may be reappointed for additional terms. Members of the Board are appointed by the Clayton County Board of Commissioners.

Appointments to the board are structured in a staggered manner so that there is no more than two new members in any given year to ensure continuity in governance. The Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary/Treasurer are elected by and serve at the pleasure of the Water Authority Board of Directors. The Board of Directors meets on the 1st Thursday of each month at our Headquarters Building at 1600 Battle Creek Road in Morrow. These meetings are open to the public.

From an operations standpoint, the Authority utilizes a Board of Directors-Administrator form of organization. The General Manager is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the Board. The Board adopts a balanced budget annually and establishes billing rates and fees for the operations of the Water Authority. The General Manager has the responsibility of administering operations in accordance with the policies and the annual budget adopted by the Board of Directors.

Robin Malone


Mr. Robin Malone was appointed to the Clayton County Water Authority Board of Directors in 2016. He was elected by the Water Authority Board as Chair in January 2020. He is the Development and Grants Manager for Southern Crescent Habitat for Humanity and brings with him years of experience in the commercial banking industry. Read more »

Marie Barber

Vice Chair

Marie Barber joined the Clayton County Water Authority (CCWA) Board on October 6, 1999 as the first female member in the history of the utility. She served for many years as the board’s Secretary/Treasurer and as Board Chair from December 2012 – February 2015. In January 2018, she was elected Vic… Read more »

Rodney Givens


Rodney Givens brings an engineer’s eye to CCWA’s Board of Directors. As a Civil and Architectural Engineer, Givens’ background gives him insight into the complex engineering aspects of the water industry. Appointed to the board in March 2010, Givens was elected Vice Chairman in February 2015. In … Read more »

John Westervelt

Board Member

John Westervelt is President of the Clayton County division of Heritage Bank, located in downtown Jonesboro. His banking career began in 1977, with Trust Company Bank of Atlanta, and for 24 years, he continued to apply his financial expertise for banks throughout Georgia and Louisiana. Although J… Read more »

John Chafin

Board Member

John Chafin is no stranger to the people of Clayton County. He has served his community as a business owner, elected representative and as a member of the Clayton County Water Authority’s (CCWA) Board of Directors since 2004. Chafin served two years as Vice Chairman from 2010 – 2012 and was elect… Read more »

Dr. Cephus Jackson

Board Member

Dr. Cephus Jackson joined the Clayton County Water Authority Board of Directors in March 2015. Dr. Jackson has held leadership roles in school districts in four states ranging in size from 8,500 students to 212,000 students with yearly budgets up to 1.5 billion dollars. These leadership experienc… Read more »

Vivian Baldwin

Board Member

**Mrs. Vivian Baldwin passed away on April 7, 2021. During her time as a board member, CCWA adopted its 2020 Strategic Master Plan, its first Strategic Asset Master Plan and implemented a new Customer Information System.

“We are honored to have had the opportunity of serving alongside Mrs. Baldwin on the CCWA Board of Directors,” states CCWA Board Chairman Robin Malone. “As a staunch education and community advocate for Clayton County, she has served our community well. She was a valuable and cherished member of our board. Her impactfulness will be missed throughout our utility.”



Vivian Baldwin joined the Clayton County Water Authority Board of Directors in May 2017. She is a native of Atlanta, GA where she grew up on the northwest side of Atlanta, attending the historic Booker T. Washington High School and Spelman College. Baldwin earned a Master’s degree in Library Scie… Read more »